Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend was C2E2 (Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo), which typically is not a very Lolita con, but as it grows in popularity amongst the geek community, more Lolitas seem to be drawn to it, and this year the Midwest Lolita Collective had a booth there.

I attended two days of the con (Friday and Sunday), and while I had no intention of purchasing any big Lolita items, there were two dresses I was drawn to; one that I had admired last year at ACen, and one that my friend was wearing and was being displayed prominently….and appealed to my geek side.  I debated for hours, even trying both on and taking comparison photos that I was showing friends.

PhotoGrid_1430072028402

(This was in the middle of a con with all my clothes on under)

In the end however, I could not decide, and I ended up purchasing them both.

C2E2 New BluesThe one on the left is the one I had wanted since ACen last year, and is by AmaStacia.  The one on the right is by Rouge Aerie, and features Cthulhu on the skirt, which is why it appeals to my geek side.  Yes, they are similar, but they are also very different. HOWEVER, this adds two more Navy pieces to my wardrobe on top of my Infanta Snow White JSK, R-Series Odette JSK, Yolanda Sailor Set, and Enchantlic Enchantilly skirt.  Right now, over a third of my wardrobe is Navy, and while I have friends that like to focus on one color (I actually have a friend that is focused on all things blue), that was never my intent.

So, unless I come across something that is brand, affordable, and absolutely have to have in Navy, I am going to try to hold off on purchasing another Navy main piece for at least the next 6-7 pieces.  What I would really like is some more green and or purple at this point.  I am still going to make a new green skirt, and would like to make a green/black jsk if I find the right fabric, but beyond that, we shall see.

I have my eye on a JSK on Lace Market, it is a little more than I would like to pay, and there are still two days left on the auction, but I might be buying my first brand piece soon, so stay tuned.

