Tags

, ,

52WeekChallengeWeek Forty-Four:  How strangers react to my clothes, and how I react to their reactions

I have had a couple rude, mean, and/or disrespectful comments, and I generally ignore them.  They usually come from strangers, though if they come from people I know I try to correct and educate them.

Typically, the reactions I encounter are simple curiosity, sometimes laced with ignorance, but still curiosity.  In these cases, I give a short explanation of the origins and goals of the fashion and move on.

Generally I say something along the lines of “It is a Japanese Street Fashion based on the aesthetics of the Rococo, Baroque, Victorian, Georgian, and/or Regency periods of European fashion.”  That is often enough of an explanation for the average inquiry and people either move on, or are genuinely interested and will ask more questions.

(Lolita 52 Week Challenge – Current Skipped Weeks:
21.  Plan for a trip! A week’s worth of Lolita outfits I can fit in a small suitcase
41.  Fondest meetup memory)

