Tags

, ,

52WeekChallengeWeek Forty:  Five inspirational fictional characters

This is difficult, but I will give it a go.

1)  Belle – Beauty and the Beast
Belle has always been one of my favorite characters, and probably the fictional character I identify with the most. She is smart, adventurous, loves books, and I do not care what people say, she would be a Gryffindor (“I want adventure in the great wide somewhere, I want it more than I can tell. And for once it might be grand, to have someone understand, I want so much more than they’ve got planned). Besides, she is able to stand up to Beast and charm every last member of his household staff.

2)  Imogen – Cymbeline by Shakespeare
If you did not expect there to be a Shakespearean character on this list, you do not know me all that well.  Imogen is one of my favorite Shakespearean females, faced with the same sort of false accusations as Desdemona (Othello), she sets out to prove her fidelity rather than simply lay back and allow her husband to take her life (granted, part of that is thanks to the servant that does not kill her and tells her to go dress like a man).  She is unwaveringly faithful and able to turn a potential tragedy into a happy ending.

3)  Yoruichi – Bleach
Probably my favorite anime character of all time (and the only one I have made a costume of), Yoruichi is a strong and independent female who can easily hold her own against any opponent.   The fact that she turns into a black cat does not hurt my love for her either.  I often looked to her for inspiration when doing martial arts.

4)  Elizabeth Bennet – Pride and Prejudice
One of my favorite Jane Austen characters, yes, she makes mistakes, but she is a strong female in a time when strong females were not held in high regards.  She was another bookworm (though not as bad as Cathrine Morland), and more than willing and able to speak her mind.

5)  Hermione Granger – Harry Potter
I hesitated to include Hermione, as she is not one of my favorite Harry Potter characters, but I have more in common with her than I would sometimes like to admit.  Again, another bookworm (intelligence, people!), she was brave enough to stand with Harry through all he went through, and she went through her toughest adolescent years without a prominent female friend and still managed to learn how to be properly feminine when the occasion called (can we say Yule Ball?).  Still not sure when she had the time to do everything she did though.  I think she kept the time turner. 😉

So, there you are, my five.  I guess I did not have to stick with females, but I feel like the inspiration is different when looking at males as a female.  Besides, this IS still a Lolita blog, and I think each of these five could serve as good role models to Lolitas.  There are many others I see as inspirational, but these are my personal favorites.

