Tags

Several of the blogs and vlogs that I follow do a monthly favorites post, and I thought that it may be nice to try it out.  I am going to try to list at least five things for each month, that may or may not be related to Lolita.  So, here is the first edition, for the month of August.

Guardians of the Galaxy - Rocket - Oh yeahMovie – Guardians of the Galaxy
If you have seen it already, you probably know that this really needs no explanation.  If you have not seen it yet, then you need to go see it…NOW!  Technically I watched the movie on July 31st, but as the movie officially came out on August 1st, I figured I could sneak it in.  This is just a fantastic movie, and a wonderful intro to the Marvel Cosmic Universe.  I have seen the movie at least half a dozen times since it hit theaters.

20140909_204247Clothing – Target Socks
Every time I go to Target, I make a point to stop by the sock department.  They have some really cute items, including great knee high socks that I use for circus.  This month, I found knee high ones with little ears sticking up to complete fox and raccoon faces.  I think there were tigers too, but I liked these two the best.

2010-10-04-DeadPoetsSociety1989CD2.avi_003839798Old Movie – Dead Poets Society
I first saw this movie a long time ago, but I wanted to include it in honor of Robin Williams.  It is one of my favourite movies of his.

20140823_154250Food – Cream and Crepe’s Black Eyed Susan
I recently went rollerskating with three two members of the Milwaukee Lolita Society, and when we finished, w swung by Cream and Crepe while waiting for another friend to join us for dinner.  I was tempted to order one of the two flavours that I had tried last time I was there, but I decided to try something different and I am SO glad I did.  This is by far my favourite item on their menu.

Shakespearean Quote
Last, but not least, I will leave you with my favourite Shakespearean quote for the month.  I am currently making my way through all of his plays, one or two per month.  For August, I read Hamlet.  I am going to try to avoid giving well known quotes, but even then, I could not settle between two (because Hamlet is such a wealth of wonderful quotes), so I am giving you both.

“I am but mad north-north west.  When the
wind is southerly I know a hawk from a handsaw.”
~Hamlet – II.ii.369-70

“‘Sblood, do you think I am easier to be played on
than a pipe?  Call me what instrument you will, though
you can fret me, you cannot play upon me.”

~Hamlet – III.ii.355-7

And that is all for August.  I have already started jotting ideas down for September, and I will try to post them earlier in the month.

