Tags

, , , ,

52WeekChallengeWeek Three: What my own Lolita lifestyle is like.

I had to think about this one for a bit, because this could be taken in many ways.  My initial reaction was just to talk about how I interact within the Lolita world specifically, but I think a better interpretation is how Lolita is part of my everyday life.

Now, I am not a “Lifestyle Lolita,” and that is not what I meant.  The thing about me and Lolita, is that before I started dressing Lolita, and even before I was really interested in Lolita, I was interested, nay, fascinated by history, especially the Medieval through Victorian eras.  I have worked at various Renaissance Faires and Medieval Times, and one day I hope to attend the Dickens Faire in Texas.  I fit in rather well with those eras as well.

I love reading classic novels.  I love reading anything, really, but I have a special place in my heart for classic novels.  I am actually dedicated 2014 to tackling many of the classic novels I have neglected thus far:  The entire Wizard of Oz series, Little Women, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Crime and Punishment, Anna Karenina, Animal Farm, Madame Bovary, and the list goes on (My goal is to read 48 books this year).

Tea.  I have been tea drinker since high school, though back then I stuck to more green tea and drinking in a more Japanese style.  I started experimenting with reds on the advise of a friend of mine, and I went black tea crazy after visiting the UK and taking tea in Oxford.  Ever since that trip, there is nothing I like so much in the afternoon than tea with milk/cream and some scones with jam and clotted cream.  I learned how to make scones when I came home from Europe just so I could continue to have them regularly.

Baking.  I love to bake.  When I was a little girl I would bake cookies with my grandmother at the holidays, and I continued to bake more as I grew older.  I almost went to culinary school, but I was scared off by a rather creepy admissions adviser.  Now, I will sometimes out of no where just turn out a batch of cookies or cupcakes, and anytime I go to a potluck, I cannot even fathom the thought of bringing something store bought (unless it is wine), and I usually bring a dessert (usually something with chocolate).

The fashion.  I have mentioned before how my own fashion is so close to Lolita, that there was really not much of a leap.  I tend to wear dresses and skirts about 95% of the time, and I love coordinating outfits and experimenting with all sorts of different combinations.  When I moved down to Florida, I moved down with only what I could fit in my car, and yet in the seven months I was at my job, I do not think I repeated an outfit once.  My coworkers were always telling me I should go into fashion.  If only I had the resume to support such a career choice, I would LOVE to be a stylist.

Decor style.  I have never been much of a fan of modern houses and furniture, I much prefer older aesthetics.  Even as a little girl, when my parents would take me house hunting, the new houses would bore me, but I loved exploring all the hidden compartments and details in older homes.  With the decor, I love big four-poster beds with canopies and curtains, intricately carved tables and chairs, rich tapestries, and everything you could imagine in an old Victorian home, but nothing gaudy or ostentatious. always tasteful.

Traditions.  I am really not sure how to explain this one, just that I always prefer to do things the old fashion way when there is no reason to do it otherwise.  I long for the days of long, handwritten letters rather than short, emotionless e-mails and texts.  I prefer to use cooking ingredients or sewing fasteners, that would have been available in the 1800’s (I have a absolute loathing for velcro).  I envy people who danced as a social interaction that was more than just grinding on some random person you meet in a club.  It is just an overall preference for a more traditional way of life.  I love the freedom that the modern era has brought us, but I just wish we could have held on to some of the practices of our ancestors.

