Tags

, , , ,

Though it was not included in my resolutions, I am want to try to be more active here.  With that, I have been sitting on the 52 Week Challenge that has been floating around the Lolita community, and I am going to attempt to tackle it this year.  Initially, I was thinking that I should wait until I am a little further into my time as a Lolita, because some of these questions are more for the seasoned Lolita, but I figured I can do it now, and then do it again when I am more experienced and compare how my answers have changed.  It gives me 104 weeks of blogs rather than just 52. 😉

Anyhow, first I shall post the challenge list, and then onto my first question.

01.  5 pieces that every Lolita wardrobe should have, regardless of style
02.  5 movies for Lolitas
03.  What my own Lolita lifestyle is like
04.  Favorite thing to put on my head
05.  My wardrobe turnover
06.  My favorite Lolita brand
07.  Why I wear Lolita?
08.  Why don’t I wear Lolita more often?
09.  5 keywords that describe my personal Lolita style
10.  How I first found out about Lolita
11.  3 trends I wish would come back
12.  Combining other fashions with Lolita
13.  Lolitas I have met in real life
14.  Lolitas I would love to meet
15.  3 things I wish I was told when I was a new Lolita
16.  10 facts about my Lolita wardrobe
17.  My first meetup
18.  Trends I thought I would never get into, but I now love
19.  Trends I thought I loved, but now I’m not too keen on
20.  How satisfied I am with my current wardrobe
21.  Plan for a trip! A week’s worth of Lolita outfits I can fit in a small suitcase
22.  How I accessorize
23.  What influences my Lolita style
24.  What’s in my makeup bag
25.  Best places to wear Lolita
26.  How I get out of a wardrobe slump
27.  Purses that I love
28.  Bloomers or no bloomers?
29.  Lolitafying things in my everyday life
30.  How long it took me to build a complete wardrobe
31.  Impulse buys that were totally worth it
32.  My best deal
33.  Something that I made
34.  Wardrobe blunders! Things I bought that I ended up regretting!
35.  What I thought when I got my first real piece of Lolita
36.  Nails to match my favorite looks
37.  Something that’s not my style, but I love anyways
38.  Favorite hair style
39.  Most versatile Lolita item I own
40.  5 inspirational fictional characters
41.  Fondest meetup memory
42.  The ways in which I fit the cliche
43.  The ways in which I do not fit the cliche
44.  How strangers react to my clothes, and how I react to their reactions
45.  Something that was a gift
46.  Parasols: Vital or frivolous?
47.  The item in my wardrobe that was the hardest to get
48.  My “signature” outfit
49.  My favorite Lolita print
50.  What’s in my closet, but I haven’t worn yet!
51.  Predict the next Lolita trend!
52.  How Lolita has changed me

52WeekChallengeWeek One:  Five pieces that every Lolita wardrobe should have, regardless of style.

01.  A good petticoat.
Short of a few select dresses, I really feel like the petticoat is the defining aesthetic for Lolita Fashion, so having a good petticoat is crucial.  Whether it be Bell-shaped or A-Line is up to you and your wardrobe choices.  I bought one of each almost immediately.

02.  A flattering blouse in a neutral shade(s) for your style.
If you are Gothic, go black.  Sweet, go white.  Classic…to me is either easier or more difficult, because you could use black, white, or a cream/tan shade.  I personally felt the need to own at least one of each, but I am crazy and like colors and mix and matching.  To start with, think of which color(s) work with the most of your main items and buy one or two.  Make sure the cut and embellishments flatter your figure as well.  If you are very busty, you may want to avoid lots of ruffles and frills at your bust line and vice versa.  Just like any other clothing item, know what flatters your figure the best and stick to that…no matter how pretty a blouse may be, if you do not like how it looks on you, you will never wear it.

03.  A few good pairs of socks/tights.
Your leg wear can really pull together or throw off an entire outfit.  Twice now, I have found myself running out to purchase socks when the rest of my outfit was complete.  This can go the same route as a blouse if your wardrobe is consistent in colors and shades, or you may want to go a little crazy…cause socks can be fun.  I (and many other Lolita’s), highly recommend Sock Dreams.  Another option is We Love Colors, which has rather plain socks comparatively, but they have them in EVERY color.

04.  Hair accessories.
Hair can be another frustrating aspect of completing an otherwise complete outfit.  Sometimes you are lucky and your dress comes with detachable bows that you can use as hair clips as well, sometimes not so much.  I am fortunate to already have a rather developed collection of hair accessories (guess that is a side effect of having hair that at various times reaches anywhere from your lower back to your thighs), but even still, have fun with hats, fascinators, barrettes, and whatever other hair accessories you would like.

05.  Shoes to match every outfit.
I do not mean that you need to have a different pair for each outfit, just that you need to have shoes that match each one.  Shoes are currently the area that I am struggling the most with.  I do not own any really “Lolita” style shoes, but I have several pairs of booties and cute heals that I have been using in the meantime.  Still, my lack of good Lolita shoes frustrates me to no end.

