Tags

, , , , , ,

FashionMemoryMondayI mentioned last week, I went to a private school for K-6, where we were required to wear a uniform year round.  During the winter months, girls were allowed to wear pants, but there were specific dates this was allowed between.  During the rest of the year, we were required to wear white blouses, with specific tartan jumperskirts (for 1st-4th grade) or skirts (5th-8th grade).  Oh look, I found a picture of the jumpers (although I remember them being more of a black base than blue, that may have changed in the years since):
So, despite being required to wear skirts and dresses most of the year, we still had recess, and we still had gym class, and we were not allowed to change for either.  So, the girls all adopted the habit of wearing shorts under our skirts.


Little girls are cruel.  Children in general are cruel.  Hell, people are cruel.  So, since we could not judge and be judged on our outfits themselves, girls targeted the items of clothing that we could be creative with, mainly shoes, and shorts.  The big brand back then was Umbro, if you did not wear Umbro brand shorts, you were not cool (remind you of other brand judgement that is common?)  I had about five pairs of Umbros, plus one or two similar non-brand shorts, but as we always do, I had a preference for one or two pairs that I wore most often (one pair was much like the picture, but purple and magenta).  It just so happened that anytime we ended up taking our skirts off for recess or gym (we were allowed to do that much), it turned out that I was wearing the same pair of Umbros or the non-brand versions.  Of course the popular girls did not miss that, and they decided to torment me for being a wannabe for buying one pair or wearing non-brand ones.  Of course by the time I showed them I had other pairs of Umbros they then decided that I had just gone out and bought them in order to cover my tracks.  *sigh*

Of course, seventh grade, I transferred out and slowly developed my own fashion identity.  It likely took me a little longer due to the fact that I spent six years in a uniform, but I got there eventually.  That experience shaped my views of brand products a lot though.  It was so silly to judge someone just for a pair of shorts, especially when we were all running around in sports shorts, white blouses, socks, and completely miss-matching socks.  Yeah, we were REAL trendsetters back then.

